Hit Me With That Inspo

Recently I’ve been wondering…what causes us to feel inspired?

I feel the urge to create every so often and I can never figure out what gets me in that mindset. I want to make things and find an outlet for all this pent up creativity that I have that feels like it’s just waiting to bubble over at any minute! The problem is nothing feels right. I don’t know the correct channel for what I want to create. It’s like an empty promise.

It’s like I’m trying to replace a lightbulb that’s gone out. And I have a perfectly good lightbulb that I’m holding in my hand, but I can’t figure out how to line it up and screw it in. That might just be the worst metaphor ever. It’ll have to do though.

I suppose I have made progress. I know what I want to do, I just need to come up with a kick-ass idea to get me there.

Which leads me back to the original question that started out this seemingly pointless post…how do people capture that inspiration? Where does it come from? Where does it go? (Cotton-eye Joe, anyone?)

Normally inspiration just hits me. In the past it’s been in the middle of the night when I’m trying to go to sleep. It’s been at random times, like when I’m in the car with friends and everyone’s singing along with the radio. Maybe that’s only because I don’t try to tap into it often enough.

One thing is certain though, you have to want it to get it. So start working for whatever ‘it’ is and you’ll be on your way to that inspo in (hopefully) no time.

xxx Jedidiah

Leave a Reply

