A Poetry Post

Afternoon on a Hill

by Edna St. Vincent Millay1892 – 1950

 

I will be the gladdest thing
Under the sun!
I will touch a hundred flowers
And not pick one.

I will look at cliffs and clouds
With quiet eyes,
Watch the wind bow down the grass,
And the grass rise.

And when lights begin to show
Up from the town,
I will mark which must be mine,
And then start down!

 

Hope you enjoyed this as much as I do! It has such melody and flow when I read it out loud in my head. And such beauty as well! I can see myself in her words; I like that.

xxx Jedidiah

P.S. This poem is in the public domain. I found it on poets.org

P.P.S. More work from the artist can be found at megatruh.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

