Music Marvel: Tom Petty

Tom Petty’s music, whether he’s jamming with the Heartbreakers or playing on his own, is way up there on my list of all-time favorites. I don’t know exactly what it is that I love so much about it. There’s no other sound quite like it that I’ve heard. It’s always been music that has stood out to me. And I absolutely LOVE it.

Quite amazingly, the Heartbreakers got together in the seventies and yet there most recent album came out in 2014. What a testament! There have been so many hits, so many masterpieces. Some of my favorites from Tom Petty are ‘Mary Jane’s Last Dance’, ‘Free Falling’, ‘Learning to Fly’, ‘Something Good Coming’, ‘Wake Up Time’…I could go on forever.

The book, Petty: The Biography, by Warren Zanes that was published recently details the life of musician, Tom Petty. It provides great insight into his songwriting, career, and the band dynamic. Learning some of the backstory and history of the songs has made me love the music even more, if that’s even possible. However, it has also made me truly appreciate it. The dedication to the music and amount of ambition it took to make it (in every sense of the word) was not something I had considered before. I relished every sentence of this book and did not want it to end. I enjoyed it that much.

 

xxx Jedidiah

Leave a Reply

