Oh the Woes of Procrastination

Procrastination is a problem for a lot of people. I am most definitely one of them.

If I managed my time efficiently, I wouldn’t have to stay up late at night to finish my homework. I would be able to go out more, explore the city, and spend more time with friends. Then again, the things that I do to avoid homework make me happy. These things include: going on YouTube to watch an unhealthy amount of videos, reading books that are not related to any of the classes I am taking, writing on this blog, drawing, perusing the interwebs, reading news sites, email, Pinterest…thank god I don’t have a tumblr or I’d never get anything done.

94927504615156343_kmHnHBw2_c

Now that I have admitted my procrastination problems, I’ve come up with some ideas to help me (and hopefully you too!) stay focused on my work:

  1. Study/work with a friend. This way you can motivate each other in case either of you stray!
  2. Make a list of everything you have to do and then plan exactly (this is key!) when and where you are going to work on it.
  3. If your work does not include a computer, put it away! If you are like me, this is a MAJOR distraction.
  4. Along the same lines, turn off all other electronics i.e. cell phone, TV
  5. Keep your workspace clear of all bits and bobs, anything and everything that might cause you to lose focus (I have taken everything off of my desk except my work and my lamp hehe)
  6. Set small goals for yourself, this way it doesn’t seem so bad. Also, I might be able to trick myself into doing more work this way.
  7. Don’t cut out breaks, plan them. Planning short breaks will let you recharge your batteries a little, a nice mental break from whatever you’re working on. These breaks also act as a type of reward system.

The million dollar question here is simply: why do we procrastinate? I have a number of theories. You might be disinterested in what you are supposed to be working on, so therefore you are procrastinate to find something that does interest you. Or, maybe what you are avoiding does interest you, but you spend too much time working, so you procrastinate to look for something to take your mind off of it. Another cause, although many are less willing to admit it, might be pure laziness. If you have any theories of your own, let me know!

Once you figure out why you procrastinate, it will be much easier to stop putting off your work and solve the problem. The answer might be to change the way you work, or something more drastic like switching your major or finding a new job.

Remember, keep moving forward!

(Anyone catch that  Disney reference right there?)

Okay, now that I’ve finished this, I will take my own advice, stop procrastinating and finish my homework :)

xxx Jedidiah

Leave a Reply

